Issue Date:
Revised Date: 2017-09-01

Legal Cites

Object Type

Cash — Health

Origin Date

1931 by the 42nd Leg.


Board shall establish reasonable and necessary fees to produce sufficient revenue to cover administration. Fees may be adjusted, but may not be set in amount less than amount of that fee on 9-1-93. Fees are not to exceed amounts shown:

  1. License, $900.
  2. Duplicate license, $200.
  3. Temporary license, $200.
  4. Issuance of endorsement to other medical boards, $200.
  5. Reinstatement of license after lapse or cancellation, $700.
  6. Board may collect $10 per license for the peer assistance program
  7. Processing application and issuing license for annual registration for anesthesia in outpatient setting, $600.
  8. Physician-in-training permit, $200.
  9. First registration permit, $400.
  10. Registration permit renewal, $400.
  11. Texas Physician Health Program fees, $1,200.
  12. Limited license for specialty practice, fee prescribed by the board.
  13. Expedited processing fee for physicians specializing in psychiatry, set by the board.

Board may charge fees for other administrative actions authorized by statute as necessary. Renewal of a registration permit expired 90 days or less is renewal fee plus $50. Over 90 days but less than 1 year is renewal fee plus $150. Over 1 year must reapply. Initial license or registration fee increased by $5 and renewal by $1, effective September 1, 2003.

Due Date

Every two years

Collecting Agencies


Originally deposited to the Medical Registration Fund Account (0055), abolished 8-31-95 per § 403.094, Government Code.

Rates amended by S.B. 5, 67th Leg., 1st C.S., effective 8-5-81;

Rates amended by H.B. 1999, 68th Leg., R.S., effective 8-29-83.

Amended by S.B. 1170, 69th Leg., R.S., effective 9-1-85.

Amended by H.B. 2560, 70th Leg., R.S.

Each fee increased by $200 per H.B. 11, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S. Originally the $200 increase in these fees was distributed 25% to Foundation School Account (0193) and 75% to General Revenue. Dedication abolished 8-31-95 per § 403.094, Government Code.

S.B. 404, 72nd Leg., R.S. increased peer assistance fee from $1 to $5.

Previous to H.B. 2498, 73rd Leg., R.S., fees were for physicians that supervised physician assistants. H.B. 2498 changed to fee charged physician assistants.

S.B. 770, 75th Leg., R.S. increased peer assistance fee from $5 to $10.

H.B. 110, 76th Leg., R.S. increased fees up to $20 each FY during the 2000-01 biennium and $10 each FY during the 2002-03 biennium. Fees were to fund a physician profile system program and were to be reduced no later than the 2nd anniversary the system was made public.

Anesthesia license fee added by S.B. 1340, 76th Leg., R.S.

Fee structure was amended by S.B. 1207, 76th Leg., R.S. Specific examination fees and other fees were deleted. Permit for interns, residents, etc. was replaced with the Physician-in-Training permit.

Initial fee increase of $5 and renewal of $1 for funding of Health Professions Council (364) added by H.B. 2985, 78th Leg., R.S.

Limited practice license added by S.B. 423, 79th Leg., R.S.

Name changed from Texas State Board of Medical Examiners by S.B. 419, 79th Leg., R.S.

Texas Physician Health Program fee added by S.B. 292, 81st Leg., R.S.

H.B. 7, 84th Leg., R.S. repealed $200 fee increase created by H.B. 11, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S.

Expedited processing fee (13) added by S.B. 674, 85th Leg., R.S.

USAS Values

Appropriation Year 18
Receipt Category 12 – Health
Receipt Type 10 – Business/Professional Fees
Object Group 30 – Revenues
USAS Status A