Issue Date:
Revised Date: 2019-09-01

Legal Cites

Object Type

Cash — Business Regulation

Origin Date

1937 by the 45th Leg.


Fees for each professional engineer as set by the board in amounts necessary to cover administration of: license, registration, certification, examination, renewal, duplicate, re-examination, roster and inactive status..

Renewal of expired license 90 days or less -- required renewal fee and applicable fees. More than 90 days but less than 2 years -- required renewal fee, a late fee and any fee increases. Over 2 years -- may not renew; must reapply.

Board may adopt reduced license and annual renewal fees for engineers at least 65 years old or who are disabled and not actively engaged in the practice of engineering.

Board may impose administrative penalty against a person in violation up to $5,000 (collected under Revenue Object 3770). Each day a violation continues is a separate penalty.

Due Date

License renewable as set by the board.

Deposit Funds


Originally deposited to the Professional Engineers Fund Account (0056), abolished August 31, 1995 per § 403.094, Government Code. Deposited to the General Revenue Fund until the agency became self-directed, semi-independent.

Rates amended by S.B. 402, 67th Leg. R.S. effective 9-1-81.

Rates amended by S.B. 737, 71st Leg., R.S. Temporary fee increase for fiscal 1988 and 1989 of $110 expired (See Revenue Code 3184).

Amended by H.B. 11, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S. Included a $200 increase, formerly, of each $200 fee increase collected, 25% to Foundation School Account (0193) and 75% to General Revenue. Dedication expired 8-31-95 per § 403.094, Government Code.

Amended by S.B. 623, 75th Leg., R.S. (8) added by H.B. 1544, 76th Leg., R.S.

Amended by S.B. 277, 78th Leg., R.S. Effective 9-1-01 S.B. 736, 77th Leg., R.S. made Texas Board of Professional Engineers, Agency 460, a semi-independent agency with funds in the Texas Safekeeping Trust Company. 

Amended by H.B. 1817, 79th Leg., R.S.

S.B. 204, 83rd Leg., R.S. increased administrative penalty from $3,000 to $5,000.

H.B. 7, 84th Leg., R.S. repealed $200 fee increase created by H.B. 11, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S.

Amended by H.B. 1523, 86th Leg., R.S.

USAS Values

Appropriation Year 20
Receipt Category 03 – Business Regulation
Receipt Type 10 – Business/Professional Fees
Object Group 30 – Revenues
USAS Status A