Issue Date: 2013-08-13
Revised Date: 2019-09-01

Legal Cites

Object Type

Cash — Business Regulation

Origin Date

1939 by the 47th Leg.

Description

Real estate brokers and sales agent fees
TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 1101.152:

(1) Original, renewal application or annual certification for individual real estate broker license.

(2) Original, renewal application or annual certification of a real estate sales agent.

(3) Examination Fee.

(4) License for each branch office.

(5) Request for change of place of business, name or sponsoring broker or return to active status.

(6) Duplicate license.

(7) Application for approval of a real estate education program and operation of a real estate school.

(8) Transcript evaluation.

(9) A fee for preparing a license or registration history.

(10) Fee for filing an application for a moral character determination and conducting a criminal history check.

(11) Application for approval of course of study, provider or instructor of real estate continuing education courses.

1101.457
(12) Fee for deferral of continuing education.

1101.154
(13) Additional $20 fee to be sent to the Texas Real Estate Research Center, Texas A&M University on every sales agent license or certificate registration. Fee for brokers is $70.

1101.603
(14) Additional $10 fee for each broker, sales agent, and registrant license for deposit to the Real Estate Recovery Fund 0971 (outside the state treasury). If the commission determines the fund balance is less than $1 million, it may levy an additional fee.

Inspector fees
TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 1102.251:

(15) Application and renewal for apprentice inspector license.

(16) Application and renewal for real estate inspector.

(17) Application and renewal for professional inspector license.

(18) Inspector change of place of business information.

(19) Inspector replacement license.

(20) Request for name change, return to actual status or change in sponsoring professional inspector.

(21) Inspector license examination fee.

1102.352
(22) Additional inspector license fee of $200 for deposit to Real Estate Inspection Recovery Fund 0988 (outside the state treasury). The commission may charge each inspector an additional $75 if the fund balance falls below $300,000.

Appraiser fees
TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 1103.156:

(23) Appraiser application for license/certification and annual renewal fee.

(24) Appraiser examination fee.

(25) Appraiser trainee application and renewal fee.

(26) Non-resident appraiser registration fee.

(27) Appraiser registry fee up to the amount required by the appraisal subcommittee.

(28) Appraiser return to active status.

1103.209
(29) Fee and form for reciprocity submitted by appraiser from another state must be comparable that required by certifying state.

1103.212
(30) Appraiser extension to complete continuing education.

1104.052

(31) National registry fee collected from each federally regulated appraisal management company.

Other fees
1101.451 and 1103.2111

(32) The renewal fee for a license expired 90 days or less is 1.5 times the regular renewal fee. For a license , the licensee must pay a fee equal to 1-1/2 times required renewal fee; if expired more than 90 days but less than 1 year, 2 times the  renewal fee.

1101.702 and 1103.552
(33) Commission may charge administrative penalties up to $5,000 per violation (collected under Revenue Object 3770).

Due Date

Fees due before acting as a sales agent, broker, registrant or inspector. Annual certificate fees due in September, October, and November of each calendar year. Inspector licenses expire one year from date of issue. Application is active for one year. If applicant does not pass exam before first anniversary, must submit new application and pay appropriate fees.

Deposit Funds

Note

S.B. 718, 68th Leg., R.S. amended (1) - (3).

H.B. 61, 70th Leg., 2nd C.S. created a temporary $110 fee increase for fiscal 1988 and 1989 which has expired (see revenue code 3185).

S.B. 1256, 71st Leg., R.S. added (23) and (24).

S.B. 432, 72nd Leg. R.S. added (15) - (19), (21) and (22).

H.B. 270, 72nd Leg., R.S. repealed (23) and (24) as added by S.B 1256, 71st Leg., R.S., but added (23) and (24) fees back into statute along with (25) - (27).

H.B. 11, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S. created an additional $200 fee increase (see revenue code 3171). Originally the $200 increase was distributed, 25% to Foundation School Account (0193) and 75% to General Revenue. Dedication abolished 8-31-95 per § 403.094, Government Code.

H.B. 991, 73rd Leg., R.S. added (9) and (10). Amended (4) - (7), (15) - (18) and (21).

H.B. 2644, 73rd Leg., R.S. added (29).

H.B. 1205, 74th Leg., R.S. added (13).

S.B. 634, 74th Leg., R.S. amended (27).

H.B. 1508, 78th Leg., R.S. added (11). Amended (2) and (9).

S.B. 1013, 78th Leg., R.S. added (30).

Amended by S.B. 699, 84th Leg., R.S.

H.B. 695, 77th Leg., R.S. added (20). Amended (3) and (8).

H.B. 1530 80th Leg., R.S. amended (1) - (10).

S.B. 914, 80th Leg., R.S. amended (12).

H.B. 7, 84th Leg., R.S. increased Texas Real Estate Research Center fee for brokers (item 13) from $20 to $70 and repealed $200 fee increase created by H.B. 11, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S.

S.B. 1516, 85th Leg., R.S. requires deposit of national registry fee (Item #31) to GR Account 0028 - Appraiser Registry.

Item 33, administrative penalties deposit changed to General Revenue by S.B. 624, 86th Leg., R.S.

USAS Values

Appropriation Year 20
USAS Title PROFESSIONAL FEES
Receipt Category 03 – Business Regulation
Receipt Type 10 – Business/Professional Fees
Object Group 30 – Revenues
USAS Status A
Rev/Exp Category 01 – LICENSES, FEES, FINES, AND PENALTIES