Issue Date:
Revised Date: 2019-12-04

Legal Cites

Object Type

Cash — Transportation

Origin Date

1953 by the 53rd Leg.

Description

(1) A $12.50 fee for each annual certificate of inspection required of any motor vehicle, motorcycle, and certain trailers or mobile homes over 7,500 pounds (Transportation Code 548.501). $7 is collected by the inspection station.  $5.50 is remitted to the state at the time of vehicle registration (Transp. Code 548.509). Of the $5.50 amount, $2 is deposited to GR Account 0151 - Clean Air (Health and Safety Code 382.0622).

(2) A $5.75 fee for each annual certificate of inspection required for all mopeds (Transp. Code 548.501). $5.50 is remitted to the state at the time of vehicle registration (Transp. Code 548.509).

(3) A minimum $100 fee for an initial certification to act as an official inspection station until 8/31 of odd-numbered year. A minimum $100 fee for the two-year period therafter. If applicant has been convicted of a violation related to emissions inspection, the fee is a minimum $500 with subsequent renewals of a minimum $100. (Transp. Code 548.507).

(4) A minimum $25 fee for each initial appointment as inspector. First appointment effective until Aug. 31 of even numbered year. A minimum $25 fee for two-year period thereafter (Transp. Code 548.506).

(5) A $50 fee for inspection of commercial motor vehicles, of which $10 is remitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles (Transp. Code 548.504 and 548.509).

(6) An inspection fee of not less than $21.75 for new cars sold in Texas (Transp. Code 548.503). Inspection expires in 2 years. $7 is collected by the inspection station. $14.75 is remitted to the state at the time of vehicle registration (Transp. Code 548.509). Of the $14.75 amount, $2 is deposited to GR Account 0151 - Clean Air. 

(7) An emissions-related inspection fee, set by DPS, to recover costs for vehicle emission inspection and maintenance program (Transp. Code 548.505).

(8) Fees for vehicle emissions inspection performed in counties participating in early action compacts (Health and Safety Code 382.301 - 382.302).

(9) A $10 commercial motor vehicle fee for the Texas emissions reduction plan. (Transp. Code 548.5055 and Health and Safety Code Ch. 386).

(10) Fees for vehicle inspection programs established by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality consistent with the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act (Health and Safety Code 382.202 and 382.0622).

(11) Trailers with a gross weight between 4,500 and 7,500 pounds, not subject to an inspection fee, are required to pay a $7.50 fee. $3.50 is deposited to the Texas Mobility Fund - 0365, $2 is deposited to GR Account 0151 - Clean Air, and $2 is deposited to General Revenue 0001 (Transp. Code 548.510).

(12) Inspection of assembled motor vehicles requires payment of all applicable fees under Transp. Code Ch. 548 (Transp. Code 731.101).

Due Date

Each year at inspection time, except for Item (3).

Collecting Agencies

Deposit Funds

Note

Items (1 - 5) and (7) formerly deposited to the Motor Vehicle Inspection Fund Account (No. 0274).

Items (1-4) amended by S.B. 955, 67th Leg., R.S. effective 1-1-82.

Item (1) amended by S.B. 444, 68th Leg., R.S.

Item (7) Added by S.B. 1205, 68th Leg., R.S.as Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 6701d § 142(g). Amended by S.B. 725, 69th Leg., R.S.

Item (6) added by H.B. 1593, 69th Leg., R.S. as Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 6701d § 141(c-1).

Items (1) and (2) amended by H.B. 1593, 69th Leg., R.S. and H.B. 1610, 70th Leg., R.S.

Items (1-3) amended by H.B. 1494, 71st Leg., R.S.

Item (6) repealed by S.B. 2, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S.

Item (10) added by S.B. 2, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S.

Items (1) and (2) amended by S.B. 2, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S.; and S.B. 1181, 73rd Leg., R.S.

Item (5) added by H.B. 945, 73rd Leg., R.S.

Item (6) added again by S.B. 926, 73rd Leg., R.S. and amended by S.B. 1181, 73rd Leg.

Item (7) repealed by S.B. 971, 74th Leg., R.S. and recodified as Transportation Code sec. 548.505.

Item (10) amended by S.B. 178, 74th Leg., R.S.

Items (7) and (10) amended by S.B. 1856, 75th Leg., R.S.

Items (1), (2) and (6) amended by S.B. 370, 76th Leg., R.S.

Items (9) added by S.B. 5, 77th Leg., R.S.

Item (8) added by S.B. 1159, 78th Leg., R.S.

Items (1-7) amended by H.B. 3588, 78th Leg., R.S. to deposit fund Texas Mobility Fund (No. 0365) and by H.B. 2, 78th Leg., 3rd C.S. to make deposit to Fund No. 0365 effective beginning 9-1-05.

H.B. 1611, 79th Leg., R.S. dedicated fees under 382.302 (Item 8) to GR Account 0151.

Item (9) program extended to 2013 by S.B. 12, 80th Leg., R.S. and to 2019 by H.B. 1796, 81st Leg., R.S. 

Item (3) and (4) fees increased from $30 to $100 (Item 3) and $10 to $25 (Item 4) by S.B. 197, 82nd Leg., R.S.

Items 1, 2, 5, and 6. State portion of inspection fee remitted at time of registration rather than at inspection station per H.B. 2305, 83rd Leg., R.S.

H.B. 7, 84th Leg., R.S. changed portion of 2-year inspection fee (Item 6) deposited to GR Account 0151 from $4 to $2.

Item (11) added by S.B. 1001, 85th Leg., R.S.

H.B. 3745, 86th Leg., R.S. extended surcharge (item 9) expiration from 8-31-19 to the date the commission publishes the notices required under Health and Safety code 382.037.

Item (12), assembled vehicles, added by H.B.1755, 86th Leg., R.S.

Repealed
H.B. 2481, 79th Leg., R.S. repealed 548.256 (c) and (d) related to the Texas emission reduction surcharge of $225 for each inspection. This provision originally added by S.B. 5, 77th Leg., R.S.

Fees for emissions inspection program in certain counties created by S.B. 178, 74th Leg., R.S. under Health and Safety code 382.0371 and repealed by S.B. 1856, 75th Leg., R.S. Deposited to Motor Vehicle Inspection Fund Account (No. 0274).

USAS Values

Appropriation Year 20
USAS Title MOTOR VEHICLE INSPECTION FEES
Receipt Category 01 – Transportation
Receipt Type 20 – Non-Commercial Licenses and Permits
Object Group 30 – Revenues
USAS Status A
Rev/Exp Category 01 – LICENSES, FEES, FINES, AND PENALTIES